FireCooker Forums

Recommendations for best grill?

Posted: 17 June 2009 10:58 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2009-06-17

So i’ll be living in a house my senior year of college. Weather is pretty good for most of the school year so grilling outside is necessary. i’m pretty new to the world of grilling and wanted to know whats the best grill to get for a college guy like me? i’m looking for something not to expensive and for beginners. Any help would be awesome!

Posted: 18 June 2009 05:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2009-06-13

Your best bet would be a medium sized, but inexpensive, grill.

Charcoal grills are usually cheaper than propane fueled, and probably more fun.  Instead of using starter fluid, use those charcoal briquettes that already have accelerant in them, and light using old newspaper.

Another option would be to cut an old steel drum in half, hinge the halves together, and make a grill to fit.  Of course, this would be best if you plan to barbecue for more than 5 people!

Posted: 22 June 2009 11:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  8
Joined  2009-06-17

Thanks for the reply SageMother. I think i’ll go with the charcoal grill. Where’s the best place to get a charcoal grill like the one posted a picture of? Home Depot? Lowes?

Posted: 23 June 2009 04:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2009-06-13
epsteinm - 22 June 2009 11:25 AM

Thanks for the reply SageMother. I think i’ll go with the charcoal grill. Where’s the best place to get a charcoal grill like the one posted a picture of? Home Depot? Lowes?

I am a die hard Home Depot fan, but have never priced their smaller grills.

I’d start there, though, mainly because there aren’t sales people hanging around trying to talk you into a sale, or interrupting your train of thought, and you can spend plenty of time standing by a grill and visualizing yourself using it.

LOL!

Posted: 14 September 2009 11:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]